AMG Lite



Last updated





Welcome to the Page of the gorgeous, extremely attractive and very muscular NPC National Level Bodybuilder TAMI WOODEN!

(all pictures are used by Tami's personal permission)



Some Info about TAMI:


Where and when were you born?  December 23 in Sacramento area of CA.


What is your profession? I am a teacher and strength and conditioning coach/consultant at two different 2 year colleges in the Sacramento CA area. In 2003-2004 I was the State Director for the NSCA (National Strength and Conditioning Association.) I was happy to put on 2 clinics since there hadn’t been much going on in the state recently.


What kind of activities/sports did you do before you started lifting weights? Track, football, softball, tennis


How and when did you get involved into lifting weights? When I was 22 after being sidelined from tennis competition injuries. My first introduction was Pete and Ila King in Stockton CA with powerlifting.


Was it a goal for you to compete in bodybuilding competitions right from the beginning or was it something that grew in your mind as time went on and you saw the progress in your body? I didn’t really have the confidence at first, but wanted to compete because being an athlete, this was always one of the goals.


What was your first competition and how did you place? 1988 San Jose SuperBowl. I placed 5th.


And which contest has been the biggest success for you yet? Probably my 1996 Ironmaiden in L.A. CA. Placed 3rd but felt I looked my best.


Could you please add a history of all contests that you have entered so far? Well honestly I can’t remember. I competed from 1988 to 1997. Didn’t compete in 92-94 because I was a Strength and Conditioning Coach at University of the Pacific in Stockton CA also completing my Masters Degree in Sports Science. My last show was Nationals in 97 and got 13th out of 14. J I did the Ironmaiden 3 years 94-96, and the Sacramento Bodybuilding show a couple years in there too.


Please describe a typical day in the life of Tami Wooden. It depends on my work schedule, which changes every semester. But I teach, train and eat 6 times a day. Hopefully laugh at some “Friends” show and get some reading in, listen to some good rock music depending on my mood. (Music is very emotional to me.) ….and get the update of “All My Children” online. J


Please tell me something about your daily training routine. I start with functional dynamic warm-ups, do some stabilization/balance training for the bodypart(s) I am training that day. Then into bodybuilding routine of 12- 16 sets per large muscle group and 8-12 per small muscle group. Cardio following…20- 40 minutes of interval or low intensity depending on the day.


How often do you train in a week? 4 days lifting and 4-6 days of cardio. I train each bodypart one time per week. Do abs 3-4 times per week and calves 2 times.

What are the main differences when you train for a competition and in off-season? A bit more cardio…and I’m just a lot more tired so just focusing and pushing through!

If you don’t mind would you give me some stats (best lifts and some body measurements)? Body measurements….arms 17 Ľ pumped 16 ˝ cold. Legs 25 pumped 24 ˝ cold. Chest…not big enough..but if you must know…42! J


Which bodypart is your best in your opinion? Well my arms are big…and my back I think looks pretty okay. I guess it’s just relative in what someone would think of as my best. I do love legs though.


What is your favorite exercise in the gym and which one you don’t like so much? I love hack squats and lunges best! I don’t like exercises that fire up my shoulder joint from my injury and surgeries.


Judging in Women’s Bodybuilding has always been criticised in one or the other way. Please tell me your honest thoughts about today’s judging in Women’s Bodybuilding. It will be what it is going to be. I just wish there were more judges that were or are competitive bodybuilders so as to be more fair and realistic in that manner.


Please tell me about what else you are doing when you don’t work out (profession, hobbies, etc.) Helping people be their best is one of my favorite things to do as a teacher/coach. I love to motivate. My hobbies..well I love to read and learn, love to hike in Lake Tahoe or Yosemite which are my favorite places. Love new rock and older rock music as I said, love to shop for cute stuff and love my Siberian huskies that my husband takes very good care of. :)


What are your future plans for 2005? Do you plan to compete again? I will try to do the Contra Costa in CA in May, and just continue to work hard in the gym and sculpt my muscle and enjoy the journey!


Please note:

Tami does not do sessions or wrestling of any kind. Please don't ask!!




TAMI's Photo Gallery:


click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge

click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge

click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge  click on image to enlarge




Video clip:


Video clip (11.4 MB)

Video clip is courtesy of James Cook



Please check out Tami's own website at



You are visitor


WEBCounter by GOWEB


© 2005 by Tami Wooden

Page rendered in 0.0091 seconds